edit view not showing as per layout

edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Katja from Hamburg » Wed Jun 15, 2022 11:44 pm

Hi Ernie,
I just changed to a new ipad with new ios version. After setting up my layouts and cards, everything looks ok ... beside ;‐)

When I longpress a card in the list screen, it does not show the content as per card layout anymore.
I remember in a very old version of FCD the longpress view was also only one text per page. But you changed that which make it eassier to check how changes will kook.

Is there any reason why it is not working anymore?
Katja from Hamburg
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Germany

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Ernie » Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:09 pm

Hi Katja,
The card layout used would be the active one when Advanced Layout is OFF.
So turn Advanced Layout off, then set a card layout.
Does the long-press then use this one? Does that solve your problem?
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Katja from Hamburg » Thu Jun 16, 2022 11:44 pm

Hi Ernie,
Yes it works when switched off.
But
1) on ios 10 (my old ipad) with same FCD version it also works when advanced layout is ON
2) I am an advanced user using advanced layout and therefore be very interested to see how my changes would look like

Not sure when this changed as I did not find the initial discussion but it seems to work since at least 2014 (forum: Ansicht bei Auswahl)
2017 forum: really really need ...
and till 2021 (forum: is there a way of previewing...; edit and view)

Any chance to get this back for ios 15?
Katja from Hamburg
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Germany

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Ernie » Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:12 pm

After you set the layout (with advanced layout off), you can turn advanced layout back ON. It should then continue to work. Does it?
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Katja from Hamburg » Mon Jun 20, 2022 10:56 pm

Hi Ernie,
of course I set it back but the layout was not used. Only showing 5 pages each after the other.
Now I try to do again. But after switching advanced off, the view is still one text per page only (not using the layout).
I am not sure whether I mixed my ipads while I compare the behaviour or getting crazy or only old.

Now I tested it again on both ipads FCD vers 4.49 and light FCD 4.38:
Old ipad ios 10: independend whether «adanced layout» on or off, the layout is used to view cards in list screen.
New ipad ios 15 fcd: opposite, i.e. independend whether on or off, the layout description is not used.
Katja from Hamburg
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Germany

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Ernie » Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:06 pm

Hi Katja,

I'm not sure. I just did a test myself on iPad with everything up-to-date:

Turn advanced layout off
Card Layout > Custom 1
Edit "Custom 1" to show multiple items per side.
Return card listing , and long-press. I see multiple items per side.

Turn advanced layout on. Card listing > long press. I see the same multiple items per side.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Katja from Hamburg » Wed Jun 22, 2022 7:34 am

Hi Ernie,
Very tricky but I found the rootcause.
My advanced layout on the new ipad is not the same as anyone out of specific or global deck layouts.

When advanced‐layout is switched of, layout is that one selected from specific and global. After adanced‐layout is switched on, the layout for longtap in list screen is still that one as before from specific and global.

Solution:
I adjusted the selected global custom layout to be the same as my advanced layout. Now I can switch on advanced‐layout and everything is as before.

Thanks for your answer, that helps to setup the analyse.
Katja from Hamburg
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Germany

Re: edit view not showing as per layout

Postby Ernie » Wed Jun 22, 2022 10:49 am

"I adjusted the selected global custom layout to be the same as my advanced layout. Now I can switch on advanced‐layout and everything is as before."

Yes! Sorry I did a bad job explaining.
Ernie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: San Francisco / Taiwan

Return to Comments, Questions and Feedback



cron